5th Annual Community Read

2019 marks the 5th year of the Bedford Public Library System’s annual Community Read program.  The purpose of this program is to encourage as many members of our community to read the same book simultaneously with the hope that it will spark a discussion around the themes of those books. 
We also have programs that complement and further explore the topics discussed in the books.  In year’s past, we have done books about WWII, European travel, space, and trains.  The books we have chosen for this year
all have a similar theme of
Wilderness Survival.
Pick one up and read along with us!

Adults
The Great Alone by Kristin Hannah
In 1974, what could be harder for 13-year-old
Leni Allbright than having a dangerously unsettled Vietnam vet dad? Having him lose yet another job and decide to move the family to the Alaskan wilderness and live off the land. The summer of their arrival proves glorious and golden, but trouble comes with the winter snows, as supplies dwindle and Leni’s father becomes increasingly unbalanced.

Young Adults
The Smell of Other People’s Houses by Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock

This deeply moving and authentic debut set in 1970s Alaska is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America’s Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.  
Ruth has a secret that she can’t hide forever.
Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes.
Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she’s always known on her family’s fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it’s safer to run away than to stay home–until one of them ends up in terrible danger.

Children
Lily’s Mountain by Hannah Moderow

Unable to believe their father died while climbing Mount Denali, twelve-year-old Lily and her older sister, Sophie, climb the mountain in order to rescue him.

Young Children
Sadie Brave the Wilderness by Yvonne Pearson

While protecting her younger brother from the imagined threats encountered on a family camping trip to the Boundary Waters, Sadie overcomes her own fears and learns to love exploring the wilderness.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This